Tuesday, March 14, 2017

Thomas Jefferson: The third President of the United States

Thomas Jefferson (April 13 1743 – July 4, 1826), state legislator, governor, Republican Party co-founder and leader, congressman, minster to France, secretary of state, Vice President and third president of the United States was one of the most significant figures in American constitutional history.

Thomas Jefferson was born on April 13, 1743 at a place called Shadwell, in what is now the county of Albemarle, but which then constituted a part of the county of Goochland. His interests were those of any country boy – riding, hunting, and fishing.
He was afforded the finest schooling then available in Virginia: private tutoring until age 9, classical secondary education in boarding schools until the age of 17, higher education at the College of William and Mary, followed by 5 more years in private legal studies under the tutelage of Virginia’s most eminent jurist George Wythe.

Thomas Jefferson took office in 1800 bent upon keeping the American presidency from sliding into the decadence of power and patronage common among European monarchies.

He was declared president on February 17, 1801. He was responsible for the Louisiana Purchase, which doubled the size of the United States. He was also author of the Declaration of Independence.
Thomas Jefferson: The third President of the United States

5 most popular articles